The Heart Stone – An Artifact Reflection

I have been wanting to tell the story of how my family first encountered the Bahá’í Faith.  This project gave me the opportunity to combine it with the story of how I received one of my most precious artifacts in a fictional tale.  The audience is my family, as they will most readily recognize the images that others may find obscure, such as the house in which Mulla Husayn first encountered the Bab, the Forerunner of the Founder of the Bahá’í Faith, thus initiating its first era.  The artifact, a pink, heart-shaped stone that fits in the palm of one’s hand, was passed on to me after my grandmother’s death.  This stone sat on her mantle piece when I was a child.  Whenever I visited her, she had other visitors to whom she showed the greatest kindness.  Though neither of us knew it at the time, my future husband was one of those visitors. 

I wanted to evoke a sense of connection in our family to the history of our Faith in a whimsical way.  The dragon’s story just flowed out from the idea of “The Heart Stone.”  I decided to use Microsoft MovieMaker as an editor because it allowed me more flexibility in transitions and effects than PowerPoint does.  The greatest challenge was finding appropriate images, especially from the family photos. This has also proven to be the highlight, as I have had to connect with many family members to find the right photos.  I would like to work more on the project, take more time on it, and perhaps incorporate it in to a larger family history website, where the “real” story can be more completely explored interactively, with family members able to recall what their memories are, much in the way the website “Remembering Nagasaki” does.  There is a collection of memories of when people first became aware of nuclear weapons or the bombing of Japan, as well as a forum of comments from people with different perspectives about the bombing.  Though the subject matter is dramatically different, the format is suitable for a family history.  It could include a place for comments from people who have been touched by the Smith Family because of its relationship with the Baha’i Faith.

If you’d like to contribute to the creation of such a site, please comment.

Works Cited

The Exploratorium, IDG Films, and Rupert Jenkins. “Remembering Nagasaki.” Exploratorium: the Museum of Science, Art and Human Perception. The Exploratorium. Web. 29 Oct. 2010.

Leave a Reply

